Resurgence illustration

This is my first post of my blog on an editorial illustration piece I have been working on as part of a project I am creating! When I first did the illustration, I used a full colour pallet, however after some feedback from my tutor and other students, I decided to reduce the colour pallet, using green and blue as the two main colours: blue representing nature; and green representing the economy.

The idea for the piece came to mind after a group session, talking about different ways to approach the task. I decided to use the page to seperate the two, having the economy overtaking nature, as the article expressed the view that the economy is ‘ruining’ our earth.

I used a paper cut process as this allowed me to reduce the colour pallet significantly, and I then put the illustration with the article itself to give the image some backing.

Leave a Reply

